Category: U20 World Championship

World Rugby U20 Championship: 2017 eligibility

2017 U20 eligibility.jpeg

The number of players in each squad from this year’s World Rugby U20 Championship eligible for the 2017 tournament. Notable: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Argentina could all return at least ten members of their 2016 squads, while finalists England and Ireland have the lowest number of potential returning players with eight and four respectively.

World Rugby U20 Championship semi-final preview: Argentina

Tomorrow evening at the Manchester City Academy Stadium, Ireland will contest the semi-final of the World Rugby U20 Championship against Argentina. The Pool C winners claimed impressive victories over France and South Africa in the group stages, and will be looking to emulate the success of their senior counterparts in last autumn’s Rugby World Cup quarter-final.

Continue reading “World Rugby U20 Championship semi-final preview: Argentina”

World Rugby U20 Championship preview: New Zealand

The World Rugby U20 Championship begins in Manchester on Tuesday evening, and New Zealand – one of Ireland’s opponents in Pool A – are being backed by many to retain their title. This year’s Baby Blacks squad is slightly younger and less experienced than the 2015 side, but the high level of talent from 1 to 15 ensures that they will be in the running for the trophy when the tournament reaches its final stages in just under three weeks’ time.

Continue reading “World Rugby U20 Championship preview: New Zealand”